Sculpture

Amandine Guruceaga

Lives and works in Marseille – France

Works for sale

Biography

Picture Amandine Guruceaga - Spring Artist
Amandine Guruceaga
© Allyssa Heuze

A 2013 graduate from the Marseille École Supérieure des Beaux-Arts, Amandine Guruceaga has assembled a shape-shifting body of works, ranging from sculpture and installation to precious objects and projects involving public spaces.

Amandine Guruceaga’s work is in praise of making, as a physical, intimate relationship to matter.

The artist both mistreats and strokes metal, fabric, hides. She breaks down barriers between art and crafts, organic matter and technique, to better explore manufacturing processes and the socioeconomic background of materials.

She has contributed to numerous institutional shows and cofounded TANK, an artist-run space in Marseille devoted to producing, sharing, and inviting fellow artists.

Get the PDF of the works available

Highlights

  • Public commission, Mirador balnéaire, for Marseille-Provence 2013 (when Marseille was designated as the European Capital of Culture). 
  • Awarded the second LVMH Métiers d’Art residency: a 6-month immersion in a Spanish tannery, inspiring a major exhibition and an RVB Books publication.
  • 2018 Révélations Emerige bursary 
  • 2019 Salon de Montrouge
  • 2019 winner of FRAEME’s Compagnie Fruitière international residency in Côte d’Ivoire / Solo Show at the ART-O-RAMA fair
Amandine Guruceaga, Myth Tartar (Série), 2017

To go further

So Wet Blue et Phyllo Navy © Photo : Alexandre Guirkinger

“Amandine Guruceaga first worked with wax-printed African fabrics developed by settlers for trade, discoloring them to bring out their reactions, playing disappearing or enduring patterns. She has since produced leathers as translucid as stained glass—a method she developed in the wake of her residency at the Riba Guixà tannery.

Animal veins, skeletal structures and scars appear on the hides, along with stretch marks that arise from their intensive breeding. “History is engraved in matter,” points out the artist. Through revelatory, caring gestures, Amandine Guruceaga is able to shift history. Here, chlorophyll-colored hides, captured in light boxes reminiscent of a biologist’s slides, suggest the fusing of organic, animal, and plant orders (Myth Tartar series, 2017). Elsewhere, a patchwork of multicolored leathers is centrally layered in her composition, fanning out in a centrifugal vortex, entering into relationship much like a painter’s palette (Acid Mix Pergamine I, 2017).

(…) Amandine Guruceaga’s work breaks down the barriers that separate painting from sculpture, art from crafts.”

Marine Relinger

Acid Mix Pergamine I, 2017
 Collection LVMH Métiers d’Art, © Photo: Alexandre Guirkinger

Sculpture

Amandine Guruceaga

Vit et travaille à Marseille – France

Séries et projets

Biographie

© Allyssa Heuze

Diplômée de l’Ecole Supérieure des Beaux-Arts de Marseille en 2013, Amandine Guruceaga initie un ensemble d’œuvre protéiforme, passant de la sculpture à l’installation, de l’objet précieux au projet dédié à l’espace public. 

Le travail d’Amandine Guruceaga est un éloge du faire, un rapport physique, intime à la matière.

L’artiste malmène et caresse – le métal, le tissu, les peaux. Elle se joue des frontières entre l’art et l’artisanat, l’organique et la technique, pour mieux explorer les processus de fabrication et l’histoire socio-économique des matériaux.

Elle participe à de nombreuses expositions institutionnelles et cofonde TANK, à Marseille, un artist-run space, lieu de production et de diffusion où sont invités des artistes. 

Temps forts 

  • Commande publique, Mirador balnéaire, dans le cadre de Marseille-Provence 2013 (Marseille Capitale européenne de la culture) 
  • Artiste lauréate de la deuxième Résidence LVMH Métiers d’Art : 6 mois d’immersion au sein d’une tannerie en Espagne qui donneront lieux à une exposition d’envergure et à la publication d’un ouvrage aux éditions RVB Books
  • Révélations Emerige 2018 
  • Salon de Montrouge 2019
  • Artiste lauréate en 2019 de la Résidence internationale de la Compagnie Fruitière par Fraeme en Côte d’Ivoire / Solo Show lors de la foire ART-O-RAMA
Myth Tartar (Série)

Aller plus loin …

So Wet Blue et Phyllo Navy © Photo : Alexandre Guirkinger

« Amandine Guruceaga a commencé par travailler le wax, ce tissu africain originellement développé par les colons afin d’en faire commerce, le décolorant afin de faire apparaître les « réactions » de la matière, les motifs qui par endroits disparaissent ou, au contraire, persistent. Elle a depuis produit des séries de cuirs translucides tels des vitraux – résultat obtenu à l’issue d’une résidence à la tannerie Riba Guixà.

Sur ces peaux apparaissent les veines, ossatures et cicatrices de l’animal, vergetures que favorise l’élevage intensif dont il a fait l’objet. « L’histoire est inscrite dans la matière », souligne l’artiste. Amandine Guruceaga, dans un geste d’abord de révélation, de soin, la déplace. Là, des peaux aux teintes chlorophylle, prises dans leurs caissons lumineux comme entre les lamelles d’un biologiste, semble proposer une synthèse de l’ordre organique, animal et végétal (série Myth Tartar, 2017). Ici, les multiples couleurs d’un patchwork de cuirs se superposent au centre de la composition, avant de se déployer autour de ce vortex centrifuge : elles entrent en relation, comme sur la palette du peintre (Acid Mix Pergamine I, 2017).

(…) Le travail d’Amandine Guruceaga semble se jouer des frontières, entre peinture et sculpture, entre art et artisanat. »

Marine Relinger

Acid Mix Pergamine I, Collection LVMH Métiers d’Art, © Photo: Alexandre Guirkinger