Video art - photography - sculpture

Mali Arun

Lives and works in Strasbourg – France

Works for sale

Biography

Mali Arun

Having first studied at the Paris Beaux-Arts, and later Tianjin (China) and Brussels (La Cambre), Mali Arun developed work between fiction, documentary film, and art video, to question marginal, moving, or conflict-ridden spaces, and the body, its geographies, gestures, and desires. She explores how exiled humanity travels up and down transit and border lands, transforming spaces and landscapes into territories to ultimately “own” them. She explores beliefs, rituals, and myths.

Her films have been presented in numerous film festivals, including Clermont-Ferrand, Cabourg, St. Petersburg, Pantin, the Cinémathèque française, Visions du Réel in Nyon, the Tous Courts festival of Aix-en Provence, where she was awarded the Jury’s Award, the Jury’s Special Jury Prize at the Point Doc Festival, and a special mention at the Contis Festival. She has sold films to Arte and to a program called Le Radi.

She directed three films in 2018: two short fiction films, including one commissioned by Le Bal, and a feature-length documentary selected for the Visions du Réel international competition in Nyon, receiving the Sesterce d’Or from the canton of Vaud for best international Burning Light feature film.

In October 2019, she presented a selection of her works as part of a solo show at the Palais de Tokyo with Claire Moulène, along with a video installation for a forthcoming musical by the Orchestre National de Jazz.

Get the PDF of the works available

Highlights

  • Video for the La première Image collection, commissioned for the CNAP and the G.R.E.C
  • 2017 Emerige revelation
  • 2018 Salon de Montrouge, Grand Jury prize
  • 2019 Solo show at the Palais de Tokyo as part of the Futur, ancien, fugitifexhibition.

More info about Mali Arun solo show

Mali Arun, RIma (Fissure), 2019

Vidéo

Mali Arun

Vit et travaille à Strasbourg

Séries et projets

Biographie

À la suite de ses études aux Beaux-Arts de Paris, de Tianjin (Chine) et de Bruxelles (La Cambre), Mali Arun développe un travail situé entre la fiction, le cinéma documentaire et la vidéo d’art qui questionne à la fois les espaces en marges, en mouvements ou en conflits, et le corps, ses géographies, ses gestes, ses désirs. Elle interroge la façon dont l’Homme en exil arpente des zones de passages et de frontières, transforme l’espace, le paysage en territoire, et se l’approprie. Elle explore les croyances, les rituels et les mythes.

Elle présente ses films dans de nombreux festivals de cinéma, dont Clermont-Ferrand, Cabourg, St. Petersbourg, Pantin, Cinémathèque française, Visions du Réel à Nyon, Festival Tous Courts d’Aix-en Provence où elle obtient le Prix du Jury, Le coup de coeur du jury au Festival Point Doc ou encore la Mention Spéciale au Festival de Contis. Elle vend ses films à Arte et au programme Le Radi. 

En 2018 elle réalise trois films. Deux court-métrages de fiction dont un commandité par Le Bal, et un long-métrage documentaire sélectionné à Visions du Réel à Nyon en compétition internationale où elle reçoit le Sesterce d’Or Canton de Vaud, meilleurs film de compétition internationale long-métrages Burning Lights.

En octobre 2019 elle présente une sélection de ses travaux lors d’un solo show au Palais de Tokyo avec la collaboration de Claire Moulène ainsi qu’une installation vidéo pour la prochaine création musicale de l’Orchestre National de Jazz. 

Temps forts

  • Réalisation d’une vidéo pour la collection La première Image commandité par le CNAP et le G.R.E.C
  • Révélations Emerige 2017 
  • Salon de Montrouge 2018, Grand prix du Jury 
  • Solo show au Palais de Tokyo en 2019 dans le cadre de l’exposition Futur, ancien, fugitif
RIma (fissures)