Sculpture - Land Art

Romain Langlois

Lives and works in Cancale – France

Works for sale

Biography

Romain Langlois

Romain Langlois is a self-taught sculptor who engages in a headlong confrontation with matter, refining his technique to the point of complete mastery. His rich, shape-shifting work encompasses sculpture and land art, stemming from his patient observation and celebration of nature.

The artist plays with visual confusion, creating spectacular pieces from trunks and bark cast in bronze and calcite, where Himalayan peaks give way to monuments, and rocks blossom into effusions of violent colors in their most intimate nooks and crannies. Melding disciplines, and bringing together scientists, writers, and NGOs, he explores themes arising from the Anthropocene and other important human crises.

Romain Langlois is a generous soul who celebrates fragility, catching our contemporary, over-solicited, impatient eyes to focus on the transience of things and beings that we can no longer see. He is the founder of 111-Days.

Get the PDF of the works available

Highlights

  • Works presented in numerous institutional collections, such as the OFI, Matmut, Fondation Bulukian…  
  • 2016: Cell Garden project in Japan and Indonesia
  • 2017: public commission of a monumental work, “Oriental Gate,” Suzhou, China
  • 2019: “Symbiose” project and residency in the Calanques National Park, Cassis, France
  • 2019: presentation of the Aken sculpture to the Palace of Nations, Geneva, created with displaced people and association Les Utopistes en action

Sculpture - Land Art

Romain Langlois

Séries et projets

Biographie

Romain Langlois est un sculpteur autodidacte, qui s’est confronté à corps perdu à la matière, affinant sa technique jusqu’à parvenir à une maîtrise totale. Son œuvre, riche et protéiforme, va de la sculpture au land art, puisant sa source dans la patiente observation et la célébration de la nature. 

L’artiste joue sur la confusion visuelle, crée des œuvres spectaculaires où le tronc et l’écorce sont de bronze et de calcite, où les cimes de l’Himalaya voient surgir des monuments et les rocs fleurir de violentes couleurs dans leurs replis les plus intimes. Il explore les thèmes de l’anthropocène et des grandes crises humaines et recroise les disciplines, fédérant autour de lui scientifiques, écrivains, ONG… 

Romain Langlois est un généreux qui célèbre le fragile et attire notre regard contemporain sur-sollicité et impatient sur la fugacité des choses et des êtres que l’on ne voit plus. Il est le fondateur de l’association 111-days.

Temps forts

  • Œuvres présentes dans de nombreuses collections institutionnelles telles que OFI, Matmut, Fondation Bulukian…  
  • En 2016, projet Cell Garden en Japon et en Indonésie
  • En 2017, commande publique d’une œuvre monumentale « Oriental Gate » à Suzhou, Chine
  • En 2019, Projet « Symbiose », Résidence dans le parc national des calanques de Cassis, France
  • En 2019, présentation au Palais des Nations, Genève de la sculpture Aken, réalisée avec des personnes en exil avec l’association Les Utopistes en action